Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: On the bench for a bit

Looking for an apartment Snow Sport Instructor

On the bench for a bit

I have benched myself until I can sort out a few problems.

All of the studies I recently completed opened up a few doors in understanding. One of those doors pointed to a way to get the radical high edge angles where your hips are a few inches above the ground at considerably less speeds than racers get to in the race courses. Of course I considered it theory unless I or someone else could veryify it. I started playing with the ideas and have had a ton of fun and have learned a lot.

The whole idea here was to accurately steer the skis out with very little pressure to a very high edge and engage the skis just about the apex. Most of the pressure would come from momentum instead of centrifugal force.

Sunday I was confident enough in reaching the skis out that I figured I have a fair chance of pulling it off and at worst probably blowing out of the turn. The snow conditions were perfect, I was going to use the terrain to my advantage, I was on the right skis and in the right frame of mind. I had planned on doing some more skiing before I tried it but this one run seemed perfect so I went for it. I was ultra smooth and accurate but really let it go. I felt the skis shoot way out and I was way low when the skis engaged.