Page 1 of 18 1 2 3 6 11 16 ... LastLast

Thread: Sacroiliac Joint

Home Sweet Home Ski Patrol daveski7's Avatar

Sacroiliac Joint

I am wondering if anyone is familiar with SI Joint pain? If so, what steps have they taken to eliminate it or make it not so discomforting? I am a Landscaper and have been experiencing pretty sharp lower back pain for a few years mostly due to compression. My Chiropractor does everything under his power to release the joint but to no avail. I have also tried deep tissue massage,not. I can for the most part ignore it while skiing,golfing, and at work but am looking for any advice anyone might be able to offer short of an MRI. Thanks in advance, Dave

My horse knows his own way home Little Tiger's Avatar
    Yes Dave - suffered that for a few years after an injury at work....

First step was an SIJ belt- to help stabilise....

Best treatment AFAIK is working on the core , stretches, and nerve gliding etc(I had a nerve would get trapped in the muscle as it spasmed to stabilise the joint)...

I have a weird - bend and lift leg exercise, hamstring bridges etc... pretty much core, hamstrings, glutes

Did you see your Primary Doctor before taking these steps? Did you have x-rays or an MRI?

saw the hospital doc and physio(I worked at the hospital) and the local doc and physio... the "give away" from the local physios view point was that gliding actions - skiing and skating were fine but walking was almost impossible... so he tried out the belt - which relieved the pain... As far as he was concerned that was all the proof he needed...